Blog 4

The ISTE Standards are standards made for teachers who wish to implement technology in an effective way.  For this blog post, I will be focusing on standards 1, 3, and 4. Though all five standards hold a vast amount of importance, I feel these three are not always present in the classroom.  Also, I will be explaining how I will use technology in my music classroom.

The first ISTE Standard is, “Facilitate and inspire student learning and creativity.”  In a music classroom fostering creativity is a given, but there is so much more that can be done to  inspire creativity through technology.  For example, there are many types of music software that students can use to compose and arrange pieces for any type of music ensemble.  Through this software, they will be able to put music theory to practice.

The third ISTE Standard is, “Model digital age work and learning.”  It is just a fact of the world now that students have to be globally competitive when entering college and the workforce.  One of the largest elements of this is “technology fluency.”  Music  is a collaborative art and can allow you to work with others around the world.  In order to do this, you can use Skype, email, and other safe networking sites.  Knowing how to use these technologies and others is key in this 21st-century world.

The fourth ISTE Standard is, “Promote and model digital citizenship and responsibility.”  With technology comes the good aspects and the not so good aspects.  Teaching students to use technology safely and responsibly in the classroom can be a great help to them.  Knowing how to appropriately use technology can make a safer digital world.

Though many think that technology can be hard to come by in a music classroom, I have to say I completely disagree.  When technology is used properly, in the music classroom, it can increase learning and knowledge vastly.  In my music classroom, if I have the means, I plan to use music composing software, interactive whiteboards, and computers.  The majority of my class time will be used to rehearse music for an upcoming concert, I will still need to teach music theory and history.  I can teach these two things through activities used through the three technologies I’ve listed above.  There is a whole other world to be accessed through the use of technology.

Leave a Reply

